– Just sit here with me, Imma.

It is that time of the year. Various kinds of the flu, colds and unpleasant stuff are going around. This morning my little princess woke up with a high fever, poor one. She has been knocked out on the couch all day, and was only feeling worse come evening. (We will go to the doctor first thing tomorrow morning.)

IMG_5519.JPG

I didn’t take any pictures today, so here is one from New Year’s Eve when we had hot chocolates at the King David Hotel! 🙂

With both of my children, when they are sick like this, and I ask them: – Is there anything you would like? Anything I can get you?  All they want is for me to be there with them. – If you could just sit here with me, Imma…

And so I try to do just that. I have read out loud countless chapters of various books today. We have hugged, we have watched movies, and when she was feeling relatively strong because of fever reducing pain killers, we even started a new knitting project.

And this evening, I must have sat for more than an hour singing songs by her bed. But you know, I am thankful that these types of things actually seem to bring her comfort! It really seems to help! I imagine there will come days when it will seem harder to find something to do to help her, – now at least it is within my reach to do something that actually helps.

So at times like these, when my ten year old baby is in need of some tender loving care, I am so thankful to be able to give it to her, quite easily, in ways that actually comfort her!

At the same time, in between all the hugging and reading, I eat some chicken soup, drink some hot cider and do what I can to strengthen my own immune system. No time is a good time to get sick, but now especially so,  – I have a marathon to run in five days…

One thought on “– Just sit here with me, Imma.

  1. Paula R. says:

    Te’ena,
    I love the picture of you all at the King David Hotel drinking hot chocolate! I hope Becca is feeling better and that you are staying healthy. I look forward to hearing about the marathon, soon.

    I hear you and can relate to the “just sit with me Mommy.” I also treasure those quiet, cuddly times together, because as you say… You never know when the last time will be where they want you to cuddle or sing songs to them. I love that we can comfort and nurture them.
    Have a blessed new year.

Leave a Reply

