Hanukkah in Jerusalem

IMG_5213

I love Hanukkah! Currently it is my favorite holiday of all. It is so amazingly beautiful, so cozy and at the same time so deep.

IMG_5171.JPG

 

We celebrate the miracle of Light. For eight whole days, and not the least for eight beautiful nights we focus on Light!

IMG_5278

I can now look back on eight days full of sweet moments. So many amazing sights of shimmering oil lamps and flickering flames.

FullSizeRender-13

Songs of darkness being removed as light comes in and takes over, and songs of how each one of us are all little lights!

IMG_5222

I have loved having my children home from school for the days of Hanukkah. This makes for so much more relaxing evenings, and not the least more relaxed mornings! It was a wonderful and much needed break for all.

FullSizeRender-12.jpg

And I have LOVED walking the streets of Jerusalem during these cool Hanukkah evenings. Seeing the hanukkiot (Hanukkah-menorah) getting fuller and fuller every night, ever more beautiful and bright.

IMG_5176

And there are so many of them! Last night my dear husband and I went for a long run through Jerusalem, and we decided to count how many hanukkiot we saw on our way. The final count was 773 hanukkiot!!!

IMG_5266

 

The focus on the theme of dedication has been special for me this year. The name of the holiday, “Hanukkah”, means “Dedication”. The Temple was re-dedicated to God, to be a holy and suitable dwelling place for Him.

IMG_5174

The challenge that I am taking with me as we go towards the end of this year’s Hanukkah, is to dedicate myself even more to be a good dwelling place for God. I want to make more room for Him, to fill myself even more with Him, spend time in His Word and get closer and closer to Him.

 

IMG_5288.JPG

 

 

Leave a Reply

