Life…

High time for another blog post. Somehow when the habit is gone, it is hard to get it done. Even though I think up all kinds of posts in my head, they just don’t make it to the blog… So here we go, – I thought I’d give you a sign of life.

At the time of writing, I am high above the clouds, in an airplane, on my way to Norway. The circumstances for this spontaneous winter trip are sad. My dear grandfather passed away, and the children and I are going to be with the family there, so that we can go through the mourning processes together. Our hearts are heavy with sadness trying to grasp the fact that this beloved man no longer is among us, but at the same time we are so very thankful for the life that he lived, and for all the wonderful memories we have from our times with him.

great grandfather

Going through this process, my grandfather becoming ill, being in the hospital and eventually passing away, has naturally influenced on my days. Somehow you become less present, and just go through the motions of life. Yet at the same time you become very aware of what is really important in life. – Take good care of each other. Be good to each other. Definitely to those close to you, but also, – it doesn’t hurt to just be kind to strangers you meet as well. You have no idea what kinds of struggles they are going through. The day my grandfather passed away, I was at the supermarket, and being totally distracted, midway through the shopping, I accidentally swopped shopping carts with another customer… I was thankful the other customer just smiled as we swopped back… Kindness is especially appreciated at times like those. And we just never know what others are going through, so we might as well have patience with them…

Back to the moment. I am sitting here watching my daughter. 8 years old and so excited about every little detail. She just got her child-meal, and upon opening the little butter-pack, she exclaims, – Ah, wow! Look! There is a star-pattern on it! Isn’t it just beautiful?

Oh, to have the simple joy of a child! To notice and appreciate the little things in life.

A big secret to how your life and your days are experienced, depends on your attitude. And here we have a choice. Why not choose a thankful attitude? Why not choose to appreciate the little joys and blessings along the way? Why not choose to show kindness to those around us, and to ourselves? This is our chance at life, – let’s make it a good one.

2 thoughts on “Life…

  1. Diane Rosner says:

    Our thoughts and prayers are with you and your dear family at this time! I am so grateful to always learn a great lesson from your blog! You and your family are natural teachers and we are sending love your way!!! Love, Diane

  2. Paula R. says:

    Te’ena…I am so sorry to hear about the loss of your beloved Grandfather. I’m glad you and the children are able to travel and be with your family during this difficult time. Somehow being together as a family and reliving memories brings great comfort during times of loss.
    I pray this visit will be a healing time for you and your family.

    I’m not surprise that Becca noticed the little star pattern on that object…because she learns that from YOU! I know you have been very purposeful and intentional about pointing out and teaching them about the beauty life has to offer and to savor the small things that make up the big things in life. It is good to see you post again. We are here whenever you want to stop in and share life with us. Keeping you in our prayers.

Leave a Reply

