Good to be home!

It sure is good to be home again! And again it hits me, – I get to call JERUSALEM home!!

I am HOME in YERUSHALAYIM!!!

Children at the hotel

The children feel it too. We were walking on a Jerusalem street, going to familiar Jerusalem shops to get school supplies along with the rest of the Jerusalem families, and my son turns to me: – “Everyone is speaking Hebrew, Imma! And, like, there are Jews all around! It’s not just us… It is so nice!!”

It has been great to meet up with friends here, to reconnect with our community. You know, our daughter, she is such a social bee, we had not been home from the airport for even an hour, and the phone started calling, – it was her friends wanting to set up a playdate!! And for me too, it has been really nice to catch up with dear friends here at home. We share so much. Our hearts get excited about the same things. It is so good to be together.

Becca at the hotel

Yes, it is a wonderful blessing to travel and get to go away, – but there is nothing like coming home to where you belong!

When we prayed at synagogues in the States and in Norway, it always struck me how central Jerusalem is in the prayers. We attended quite zionistic synagogues (which is a bit ironic when they are not in the Land, kind of…), and they were very clear in their prayers for the Land of Israel and for Jerusalem. I loved it. It made me happy. It made me sad. I have a very zionistic heart, and really, as much as there is a need for Jews everywhere, we can really use a few more here in the building of our homeland too!!

Family at the hotel

There is a Hebrew song that has been going around in my head many of the days since we got back, and it has a phrase in it, – dwellers of Jerusalem! And I am one of those! Imagine!! I get to be a dweller of Jerusalem!!! Wow! What a privilege!

I want to be a daughter of Zion who rejoices in Jerusalem! I am so thankful to God that I get to live my life right here, that this is what I get to call home.

And now I can feel it in the air that Shabbat is coming. There is a smell of chicken soup and fresh challot. Our table is set for us and our guests for when we come home after the synagogue service tonight. And all the neighbors have been preparing too. We are all doing this together. Oh, it is GOOD to be HOME!!

(The photos in this post are from one of the afternoons this week, when we attempted to get a family photo taken at the Kotel (western wall). I think we may have to go back and try it again… The sun was too much of a challenge! But we LOVE the Kotel! There is nowhere like it!!!)

2 thoughts on “Good to be home!

  1. It is cool that you call Yerushalayim home. Enjoy being back home and Shana tova.

  2. Paula R. says:

    There is no place like home! How wonderful your children sense that as well. Even after all their amazing experiences on their world-wide adventure–they love home best… As it should be. Be blessed getting back on track and starting school. I love Becca’s sun-kissed blonder hair! Too cute.

Leave a Reply

