Been off in a bubble in Norway…

Oh, that´s right, I have a blog!?! I guess it is about time to actually post something there then!!! The thing is, teenainjerusalem has not been in Jerusalem….. and now that I am back, I feel that I have to update from the weeks in between before I can really start blogging about life in Jerusalem. So, here is a post about some really wonderful weeks with my dear family and friends in beautiful Norway.

Norwegian fiord

Whenever I am there, I feel like I get a break from life´s normal realities. It´s like being in a little bubble, disconnected from the regular pressures of life. We stay with my parents who live on this beautiful island in a fiord with 350 people living on it.

Fogn

Everyone knows everyone, and a third of them are family! I grew up there, and I had to take a boat to school like other people take a school bus!

view from home

I am very thankful that my children get to experience the summers there, which is in every way soooo different from life in Jerusalem. Everything is so green and lush. We are out on the boat almost every day.

I just LOVE the sea! It is something I really miss in Jerusalem.

boating

So, while I feel like I get my batteries recharged when in Norway in general, they get supercharged when out on a boat trip!

boat life

And this year we even went for a couple of overnight trips on the boat. Good times indeed!

boating

Imagine waking up to this type of view!

boatlifeAnd then enjoying a cold morning swim in the North sea, searching for the viking blood somewhere in you…

morning swimThe children run around with cousins, and enjoy good long, bright Norwegian summer days.

dancing cousinsI am so glad to see the strong ties they already have between themselves as cousins even at such young ages, – and in spite of the geographical distance most of the year.

cousins

cousins on the boatThis year there was even a new little one to meet! Sweet!! (*And his little big brother is very sweet too!)

little cousinsThere were new skills learnt, – like fishing. Our son proudly brought home a lot of fish during the summer (now, if he would just as happily eat it… sigh…).

fishingI love all the time I get together with my sisters and brothers (including sisters and brother in law) in the summer. And this summer we had several opportunities to go running together.

running

running siblingsMy husband was in Israel for a lot of the time that the children and I were in Norway, but for the last bit he came and joined us, which I am so thankful for. He also loves being there, and especially he enjoys being out on the boat.

on the boat

And sometimes I feel like he is the toughest viking among us, because he very seldom misses an opportunity to jump in the water from the boat!

swimming from the boatMy dad has several different types of berry bushes, with plenty of produce to share, so we pick berries that we bring frozen with us to Israel. That way we get the wonderful tastes of Norway all throughout the winter!

picking berries

While I live far away from the family I grew up with during most of the year, we certainly make up for it in the summer! Here I am coming back from a late evening walk with my mom. I looooove the light summer evenings in Norway!

summer eveningOne of the highlights of our time in Norway, is always the visit to my dear grandparents. I am so thankful that my children have the opportunity to get to know them!

great grandparentsThis is becoming a long post with tons of photos… sorry about that. There are soooo many to choose between! I just have to show you a few more! Here is the beach we always went swimming at when I was a child:

beachAnd to get there, you have to walk this cute little path, which really is best experienced walking barefoot:

walkingAnd here is just one more, – coming in to park the boat:

boatlifeI am thankful for a wonderful summer!!

5 thoughts on “Been off in a bubble in Norway…

  1. Hadassah Lerner says:

    What a beautiful summer! Tucking a great childhood under your children’s belts!

    ________________________________

  2. Unni Osthus says:

    It looks really nice- and it was!
    We are so happy that you spend your summerholiday on the iland in the sun:-)

  3. Franziska says:

    thank you so much for sharing your lovely summer with it! You were very blessed – we here in Austria had the greatest heat ever – 41° Celsius. It was suffocating. Now cool fall has arrived and we are thankful for it. I am glad you all are safely back in the King’s City 🙂

  4. Ulli says:

    Nice for you, that you also had a holiday on your blog. But now I am really looking forward to read more of you!!! And especially how you are doing in those days!

  5. Paula R. says:

    Te’ena… Welcome back! I missed you. So glad you had such an amazing time in Norway. I’m so glad you included so many breathtaking pictures of your home country. The pictures were stunning and postcard picture-perfect.
    The setting is unbelievably picturesque and other worldly. No wonder you return home with your batteries charged! There is nothing like summer on the water. Thanks for sharing your beloved Norway with us. Can’t wait to see what you have lined up to share!

    September is here… But so is the hot weather. I am eager for autumn. It will be here soon, hopefully.
    Dash Cham from Colorado!
    Paula

Leave a Reply

