Good days fly by!

Wow, – it’s already Friday! Another week has flown by! Well, as the saying goes, – time flies when you are having fun. It has been a relatively cold and rainy week in Jerusalem, – and we continue to be thankful for the water God blesses us with.

moments

I have had several efficient mornings in my home office, – such a wonderful blessing on those cold winter days!

And I made enough cinnamon rolls for there to be plenty for the children’s class the one day and the women’s group the next day.

cinnamon rolls on tray

I got to run through the streets of Jerusalem with my other favorite running partner, – my wonderful son. He by the way has a birthday coming up next week, which we have spent quite some time planning for and being excited about this week.

my running son

My cute and skippy girl has recently got bangs… and I am just about starting to get used to them. This is something she has wanted for a long time, but I have been, let’s say, – hesitant. As a little girl, I always had bangs, but didn’t actually want it that way. So, in my mind I always pictured my little girl not having them. Anyway, I am of the opinion that within certain limits the children should get to decide their own hairstyle, – after all it is only hair! So, when I was now convinced that she really wanted this, – we just went for it! My mom said it would be very difficult, and I should take her to the hairdresser. My sister said to make sure not to cut it too short, and also to make sure there would be enough of it (who wants thin bangs?). And so, one afternoon when I felt a splurge of energy, I just did it myself… It just seemed so much simpler and quicker (*and cheaper). And after getting over the first shock of how incredibly different she looks, I think it looks pretty good! It sort of fits her spunky personality!

my girl with bangs

I made a work-related trip to the town of Sderot, which you may remember is one of the places that was under such heavy fire during the war a couple of months ago. Here is a picture of a typical bus-stop in Sderot, – they are all made into bomb-shelters! So wherever you are, you will always be relatively near one, – a good idea, but a sad reality. I was glad to be able to be there, and in the process bless some families in that area.

bus stop in Sderot

Yesterday we had our weekly meeting of  Torah-portion-study at our house. The portions are so full and wonderful these weeks! We have just left Egypt, and this week received the ten commandments. Amazing stuff!! And in everything we see God so presently guiding his people, so part of their lives, – and then to think of the fact that He is the same today as He was then!!

As it was a rainy and cold day, I served hot soup, warm bread and hot apple cider to those who came. And I made lemon bars for dessert, which is a favorite here in the family. I am trying to push anything with C-vitamins these days, so I made sure to add a lot of freshly squeezed lemon juice.

lemons

We even have some left for Shabbat. Not that we are lacking. There is chicken soup cooking over here, challahs rising and several other dishes in the process, – and of course plenty of hot apple cider.

lemon bars

lemon bars

And look at the beautiful red roses my dear husband brought home for me today!

red roses

Shabbat shalom to all of you from a rainy Jerusalem!

7 thoughts on “Good days fly by!

  1. You are on a bunch of Facebook members here in the USA and I just want you to know that we all are enjoying your encouraging postings. We pray for you, laugh with you and share in your experiences as you tell in your postings. Besides all of that, your Lemon Bars look absolutely delicious.

    • Te'ena says:

      Thank you, Wilma!! This is such an encouraging comment! It is very nice to hear that people actually read what I write, and that it means something to them! Wish I could send you a lemon bar through the internet!! 😉

  2. Luke says:

    Shabbat Shalom from Australia!

  3. Janne says:

    Alltid kjekt å lesa fra kvadagen dåkkas. Klem i fleng fra Trevland 🙂

  4. Paula Romer says:

    Hope you had a good weekend. It is amazing how quickly the week flies by. As the saying goes…”The days are long but the years are short.” I spent most of Saturday at a scrapbook crop with friends… Working on my photo albums… And remembering the beautiful moments that happen every day-just not the special occasions and holidays.

    Te’ena… I, like you, relish those daily rituals and the beauty of the mundane among the miraculous-those moments of routine homemaking that are actually worship.

    Your cinnamon rolls and lemon bars look divine. I know all your groups must love meeting at your house with all those special treats you take the time and care to make.

    Your baby girl looks cute with her new bangs. You were brave to do it on your own. I experienced trauma at the hands of hair cuts at home as a child, ha! But she looks darling!

    Have a blessed week.

    • Te'ena says:

      You are so right, Paula, – we have to treasure the everyday! That is what there is most of anyway!! Oh, and I am so happy for you that you scrapbook with friends!!! We spent some time looking in the scrapbooks I made for the children, and there is so much detail of the first year or so, – and so little afterwards…. I need to do something about that! 😉 (By the way, – there are lots of pictures of Jonathan´s first birthday party at your house!! That was great!)

Leave a Reply

