A prayer for the road.

Today I made a trip to the coastal town of Ashdod, about an hour’s drive from Jerusalem. It was a work-related trip, and I do quite a bit of those, meeting new immigrants in various parts of Israel. Today I met six different families, and bought three washing machines, two fridges and one cooking stove, – as a help in their process of settling in the Land of their inheritance. I find it very meaningful to be part of this, as I am a strong zionist and really believe in the Jewish people returning to the Land of Israel and making their home here once again.

moments

As I start out on a trip, I have made it a habit to always say a prayer. And as in just about every other situation, there is a prayer to be found for it in the Jewish prayerbook! (Although, I just have a little card with it in the car.) I pray it in the Hebrew language, where I think it also sounds the most beautiful, but I thought it would be most practical to enclose an English translation here:

TFILAT HADERECH / A TRAVELER’S PRAYER

May it be Your will, Eternal One, our God and the God of our ancestors,
that You lead us toward peace, emplace our footsteps towards peace,
guide us toward peace, and make us reach our desired destination for life, gladness, and peace. May You rescue us from the hand of every foe, ambush, bandits and wild animals along the way, and from all manner of punishments that assemble to come to Earth. May You send blessing in our every handiwork, and grant us peace, kindness, and mercy in your eyes and in the eyes of all who see us. May You hear the sound of our supplication, because You are the God who hears prayer and supplications. Blessed are You, Eternal One, who hears prayer. 

I love the part where we ask Him to send blessing in everything we do, – that is what we set out to do really, bring blessing! A prayer somehow always manages to put everything into perspective! Because let’s face it, – who are we…?? And who is HE??? Then, if we place ourselves and our days and everything into His Hands and seek to walk in His ways, – it really does fill us with a deep sense of peace, no matter what.

coffee moment

Oh, yes, life is good.

The photos in this post are only somewhat related to the post, as they are taken as I came home from the trip, feeling sort of tired and having about a half hour before the kids needed to be picked up from school. I enjoyed my moments at home, and recharged my batteries for a full and lively afternoon. 🙂 (The cute cup and box were Hanukkah-gifts from my sweet husband!)

4 thoughts on “A prayer for the road.

  1. Ulli says:

    I am glad you wrote the prayer in english… 😉 It is beautiful! And I especially enjoy, that it is not just a prayer for the trip, but that it also includes the life trip. And you have said it. It brings so many things into perspective. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Luke says:

    A beautiful prayer. I love the focus on being a do-er, not just a hear-er.

Leave a Reply

