Make a Personal Pillow with Text.

My father in law had his birthday a few days ago. So again we were faced with, – what do we get him for his birthday…?!

I must say, I think women are a hundred percent easier to buy gifts for than men! One could just get a nice cream or shampoo, candles and napkins, vase, teacups or cookie-jars, – the list is endless! Not so with men.

And I like getting people gifts, something that will show them that we thought of them, that we appreciate them, care for them. But, – what to get??! It’s not easy! For this man in particular, we normally get something related to wine, as that is something we know he likes. We have gotten him cool wine holders to display his wine-bottles, nice wine glasses, fancy wine openers and so on. But let’s face it, – how many of those can one man have??! So I was really hoping to come up with a more creative idea this time around. And wouldn’t you know it, -during one of my runs, a creative idea for a gift for my father in law came to me! *Another good reason for running! 😉

The idea was a personal pillow with the text: “There is no one like GRANDPA” in Hebrew written on it. This is how it came out in the end:

personal pillow

And considering it was quite quick and simple, I thought I would share the steps for making it. 🙂

Start by cutting your material to fit your pillow. I basically did it almost three times the height of the pillow, so that it is partly doubled over in the back. (Too bad I forgot to take a picture of that before I gave it away!) It basically means that where the opening is, there are two layers of cloth so that a strip of the inner pillow will not accidentally be seen. And it is very convenient to have an opening, so that you can take the pillowcase off to wash it easily. Leave an extra few centimeters around the edges for seams.

Next work on your text. Mark off where the center of the front of your pillow will be, and get started on writing. I just write with a permanent marker through some letter-shapes. (Tip: Always keep a piece of paper underneath to protect your table.)

writing on pillow

To help protect the writing and keep it from being ruined when getting wet or during a wash, it is recommended to iron it with a hot iron. (But even so, I think one should be careful when washing it, especially the first time. I recommend washing it by hand.)

ironing permanent marker text

Now is the time for the actual sewing. First sew a zigzag-seam around the edges of the whole cloth, to keep it from loosing threads and coming apart. Then sew a nice double edge at the edges that will be on the back of the pillow. (*Hmm… Didn’t take any photos of this part either. My confidence level with the sewing machine still needs to grow a bit, I guess.) Next, you pin the whole thing together inside out and sew the sides together. Turn it back to the right side, and walla, – you have your own personal pillow case! Stuff it with a comfy pillow and you have a nice and personal gift!

The receiver of this pillow seemed to like it, which is of course very rewarding when you have made something for someone. The children also brought him beautiful paintings that they had really invested in, – and that were highly appreciated.

personal pillow with text

P.S. Of course you can add more to the pillow as far as different fabrics or lace or something, but I wanted to keep this one simple, and in that way more masculine.

12 thoughts on “Make a Personal Pillow with Text.

  1. Janne says:

    …Ja, selvsagt kunne du sy OGSÅ!!!! Hva er det du IKKE kan????
    Du imponerer stadig!! Kjempe flott pute!!!! 🙂
    Janne

    • Te'ena says:

      Vel vel, Janne… Eg trur ikkje mitt nivå ved symaskinen kan kallast å “kunne” sy i forhold til dei du slektar på!!! Men det er iallefall kjekt, også går det liksom så fort i forhold til strikking! 🙂

  2. Such a lovely gift idea….very nice!!

  3. hollykaann says:

    Love this idea, I think it looks great.

  4. I love this idea. It really looks stunning 🙂

  5. kutners@aol.com says:

    Hi, I picked up your blog when it snowed in Jerusalem. As a fellow snow-lover (with 2 daughters + 7 grandchildren living in Israel) I thought you might like to see what our garden in Elstree just north of London looks like this morning with 17cm of quality snow! I do like your interesting writing style! Best wishes Paul Kutner

    • Te'ena says:

      Thank you for reading my blog, and for leaving such a nice comment! I wish I could have seen your garden today! It must be absolutely beautiful! Enjoy the magic the snow throws on everything! 🙂

  6. Paula Romer says:

    Great idea! Gift giving for guys is especially hard. My husband really appreciated 2 gifts I have him for Christmas because he felt I really ” paid attention” to what interested him. But gifts don’t often get that response. I love this printed pillow idea… Such a personal thoughtful gift. And every time he gets cozy and comfy… He will think of you!

    • Te'ena says:

      Thanks, Paula! I am sure you are a very gifted gift-giver!! 🙂 And yes, there is a lot to “paying attention”, and people really appreciate it then! Lots of love to you from Jerusalem!

Leave a Reply

