SNOW in JERUSALEM!!!

Finally!!!!! After looking for snow flakes in the midst of rain and hail for most of the day, it all turned into snow. Real snow! Wonderful snow! Right sounding snow! (*You know, when you walk on it.) Beautiful snow! Light and swirling snow!

our snowy garden

Oh, it makes me happy deep in my soul just to see it! To feel it. It is winter. For real.

I really feel like a little girl again tripping around here from window to window looking at the snow flakes outside. And as I mention this feeling to the children, my sweet son replies:”That’s OK. Just go ahead and enjoy. We won’t remind you that your aren’t a little girl anymore…”

snowy palm bush

Even though it was past bedtime already for the children when the snow started settling and accumulating for real, we decided to go for a little spontaneous snow-walk. So, the one who was already in her PJs, quickly changed into warm winter clothes and out we went.

snowy Jerusalem street

I know, for most of you this does not look all that special. It’s just a little bit of white stuff on the ground. But for us Jerusalemites this is big and exciting stuff! I wish the picture came with sound effects, because all around there were joyful shouts of how wonderful it is that the snow finally came!

hail snow ball

This is a picture from a few hours earlier, when most of our white stuff was really hail. But there was enough snow in the mixture to make it stick together as a snowball.

hail snowballĀ The only problem with this hail-rain-snow-mixture was it was very cold and very wet. So much so that we had to change gloves every few minutes, leading to the fact that in this photo my little girl is wearing my big gloves.

But either way, we are really, really, REALLY enjoying this little bit of real winter! Not the least are we enjoying the coziness of being in a warm home when it is so cold outside.

hot cider with wine

Warm winter greetings to you all from Jerusalem!

8 thoughts on “SNOW in JERUSALEM!!!

  1. hollykaann says:

    Hallelujah! I am so glad for you. I understand how a little snow can go a long way in an area that just doesn’t get much. In my part of Texas an inch of snow shuts the whole place down.

    • Te'ena says:

      It is so nice that you share our joy and excitement over our snow in Jerusalem! šŸ™‚ I didn’t know that you aren’t that used to snow in Texas either… I guess I just thought of the US as having real winters. I am learning new things every day! šŸ™‚

  2. Paula Romer says:

    Enjoy the beauty and delight of your first snow. For me, it’s always exciting… Whether its the first snow, the 10th or the last! It’s so fun to be warm inside watching the snow fall from your cozy spot. I would only wish for a snow day for the kids tomorrow… But I’m doubtful they will close school. Enjoy! We are due for snow on Friday.

    • Te'ena says:

      Thank you for reading and leaving such sweet comments, Paula! I wish we lived closer and could enjoy these cozy times together!! I have fond memories of being in your warm home during some cold winter days! šŸ™‚

  3. Great! I can related to the feeling you get from the first snow. The first snow always gave me a good feeling when I was a child (and it still does).

    Now, on the other hand, I would like the snow to go away. It has been here for a month or two and it’s neither fun, nor charming anymore…

    • Te'ena says:

      Yes, I think I understand what you mean. I probably wouldn’t have been as excited about the snow had it stayed around for that long. Even though, it is hard to imagine it right now, as we so desperately hold on to every minute of it! šŸ™‚ Thank you for reading my blog, and I really appreciate your comments!

Leave a Reply

