I Love Fridays.

My current favorite music is filling the house, the chicken soup is cooking, the challah dough is rising, the washing machine is working and I am sitting down with a second cup of coffee. Yup, life is good. 

It has been a good week, but a busy one, meaning my to-do-list for today is pretty long (hence the second cup of coffee…). We have several bi-weekly activities, and somehow they happen to fall on the same week, so it gives us sort of one week on and one week off, – and this past week was the week on. So that gives us the children’s class (which we host and lead) and the women’s group two days in a row. Add to that a joyous wedding the day after, and your spare time is pretty much filled up. Because of course, work and homework and laundry and cooking and all of that is still there too. So, yes, it has been a good and busy week. I am thankful for it. And I am thankful for today, for Friday.

I still have a lot left to do on my to-do-list, so naturally there is not much to take pictures of here yet. So here comes a picture I took just before last Shabbat:

cake for shabbat

Last week we had some friends stay with us for the whole Shabbat, and they really added a lot of joy to our Shabbat-experience (so if those friends happen to read this: Thank you so much! Come back soon!). One of them is a vegetarian, so we made that Shabbat a dairy one, and I loved it! Not only can you have butter on your challah, but think of all the fun options that gives you for desserts! Take this cake for example. My favorite.

oreo cheese cake

It’s an Oreo Cheese Cake with several layers. Here is a quick run through if you feel your mouth watering already. You make a crust of 300 grams of crushed Oreo cookies and 100 grams soft butter. This you push into a spring-pan. On top of that you put a mixture of whipped cream and cream cheese (one pack of each), with about 100 grams of powdery sugar mixed into it. Oh, and leave some of this white mixture for the top of the cake too. So, first there is the crust, then there is about 2/3 of the white mixture, and then you put a layer of chocolate mousse. I made my own, I just googled a recipe, but you could also make an instant version. And then on top you put the rest of the cream cheese and whipped cream mixture. Decorate with broken Oreo cookies. You can also add some of those in between the layers. (Based on a recipe found on trinesmatblogg.no) Trust me, it is worth the effort!! Yum and double yum!

Ok, I’ll end with showing you my Shabbat Flowers this week. I saw them there on the side of the street as I was on my way home after having taken the children to school, and it was the first time I had seen them this season, – tulips. One of my many favorites. They practically had my name written all over them. So here they are. Shabbat Shalom to you all from Yerushalayim!

Shabbat flowers

10 thoughts on “I Love Fridays.

  1. Sonja says:

    Såg fantastisk god ut den kaka 🙂 kosa dåkk med besøk 🙂 Det er så herligt å lese din positive innstilling til livet og kvardagen 🙂

  2. Hadassah says:

    Thanks for sharing the beauty of your life with us! Shabbat Shalom!!

  3. Maya says:

    I love anything made with oreos. It looks beautiful and yummy!

  4. Jen Rosner says:

    Ah, it was a treat to be with you all! Thank you, again 🙂 Hope to see you again very soon! xoxo

    PS How is Jonathan doing with the card tricks…?

  5. senait says:

    It really makes me miss Jerusalem and all the friends when you talk about shabbat. I think the only City where one can experience the sweetnes and shalom of shabbat is Jerusalem. We really try to keep it as much as possible. So whenever you post something about shabbat, I feel thankful we had the opportunity to be part of it for many years. I really enjoy your blog, shabbat shalom to you and your whole family.

    • Te'ena says:

      Yes, I know, shabbat is definitely different in Jerusalem than it is other places. Kol hakavod to you guys for trying to keep it where you are! I am very glad to hear that you enjoy my blog! A blessed shabbat shalom to you and your sweet family!

Leave a Reply

