He is HOME!

As I hear of the cease fire, I of course contact my soldier out there to see if this means he is coming home. And yes, they did start packing as the cease fire started. Which again amazes me. Israel is so full of integrity, -being true to who she is in spite of what the people on the other side are doing. So, we keep our side of the agreement, even if they don’t. But at the same time, we keep on protecting our civilians. So, as the soldiers are packing up, the children in the southern cities are still staying home from school. Get that! We are in a period of cease fire, so our soldiers get to go home, but our population has yet to return to normal life, because we don’t trust the other side to keep their side of the agreement.

The packing up and putting away all their gear would take a while, the soldiers were told, and I was told the earliest I could expect my soldier back would be in the beginning of next week. Late last night came an SMS that there was a chance he would come home already for Shabbat. And as the children and I sat around the breakfast table this morning, there was a knock on the door, – and there was ABBA! (I hadn’t even told them there was a chance he would come today, because I didn’t want them to be disappointed if it didn’t happen!)

So now he is resting upstairs, there is a storm outside, and I am in the kitchen cooking up the quickest thanksgiving dinner ever (my favorite laundry will have to wait till after shabbat). I was able to get a turkey at the supermarket after dropping off the kids at school, and we will have all our favorites to go with it. Ah, life seems so good all of a sudden!! I am not completely happy with the turn of events the last few days, but right now I am just going to enjoy my family and my home, and leave the rest in God’s Hands! (But I will leave a little light on in the bomb shelter over Shabbat, just in case…)

The challah-dough is rising, and today I am planning to make one of the challot in the shape of a ladder, to remind us of Jacob‘s dream that we are reading about in this week’s torah portion. It is really interesting to notice that the angels are going “up and down” on the ladder. They started from  here, meaning that their presence was already here on earth! Tradition says the place where Jacob was resting, might have been the place where the temple later stood, which I find very exciting. Either way, it is a wonderful thought that God’s angels are present with us here on earth wherever we might be!

With this I am wishing all of you out there a blessed Shabbat Shalom, and a belated Happy Thanksgiving to those who are celebrating that as well!

10 thoughts on “He is HOME!

  1. Midge Blatt says:

    Thank you for an excellent insight into a moment of time in Israel. I posted it to my FB page.

  2. Faster says:

    Så godt å vita at de alle fire er heime igjen! Shabbat Shalom!

  3. Paula Romer says:

    Thank you Lord! So grateful Seth is safe and sound now and your precious family is reunited! I’m sure your heart is full to have Seth home. I know he will be so blessed to partake of a Thanksgiving meal that you so lovingly prepared… As I remember how much he loves the Thanksgiving holiday. You are such an Eshet Chayil-Te’ena! So proud of you for your strength and courage these last weeks.
    Giving thanks from far away for the goodness and mercy the Lord has shown to your family. Paula

  4. I’m so glad he was able to return home. What joy must be in your house. I know we are hoping both sides will be able to keep the peace.

  5. insahmity says:

    Blessings to you and your family.

  6. hollykaann says:

    I am delighted to hear that he is home. What a special Thanksgiving Memory!

  7. Te'ena says:

    Thanks to all of you for your sweet comments! We had a wonderful weekend together as a family, and have so much to be thankful for!

  8. Cathrine Pedersen says:

    ❤ the flower picture! You really should frame it and put it on a wall…! It's so wonderful…!

Leave a Reply

