Life after Air Raid Sirens.

I must admit. Having heard the siren yesterday, and sat in our bomb shelter with our children, did something to me. In several different ways.

For one, I have numerous times between then and now for a second thought that I heard the siren starting up again, but it was just the wind, an ambulance, a noisy car-engine or something else, totally NOT the siren. This has never happened to me before. I hope it will go away soon. (I notice that it happens to our daughter too. As we were out driving today, she twice thought the siren started, and it was just something else.)

The other thing I find myself doing, is looking for what I would do if the siren was to go off right now. And the options are not always all that great, if you are out for a walk, a drive, or like this afternoon watching our son out on the baseball-field.

This would in turn encourage me to just stay as close to home as I can, as much as I can, and not go out more than absolutely necessary. I played with the thought of not taking the kids to their gymnastics class and baseball class today. We could just stay home too…Nothing seemed safer.

But then again, – is that how I want to live my life?!? Do I really want to allow Hamas to limit it like that? The answer is no…

If I was to stop living my normal every day life, that would give victory to Hamas. Because that is just what they want to achieve! If they cannot take our lives literally, at least they want to take away our normal lives! And I am NOT going to let them!

On the other side I feel that the fact that the siren sounded over all of Jerusalem, and we all ran for shelter, somehow gave me more energy to fight. My adrenaline was refilled, somehow. It sort of brought it all to a different level, and I feel a great need to show them and everyone that Am Yisrael Chai!  They are not going to succeed in destroying us!! God, who has done miracles in the past, keeps doing them in our days, and we just need to trust Him!

At the time of writing, two hours have passed since we agreed on a cease fire. Even as it was all being announced, Hamas was still shooting, and they kept shooting twelve rockets at civilian areas in Southern Israel. So it seems to me that cease fire means we cease, they fire…

It is a good thing we put our trust, not in a cease fire agreement, but in the Keeper of Israel, who neither slumbers nor sleeps!

5 thoughts on “Life after Air Raid Sirens.

  1. Sonja says:

    Føle sånn med deg !! Aleine med ungane og frykten i tillegg til at Seth er der ute … Eg følge med på nyhetene her , lite og ingenting som fortelle kossen det egentlig er. Gode klem til deg og dine fra meg . Eg skal fortsette å be for dåkk , at kvardagen må få komme tilbake uten frykt og bekymring. Det er godt å kjenne på den tryggheten at Gud er med dåkk. Klem

    • Te'ena says:

      Takk for medfølelse, Sonja! Det varmar verkeleg! Og, tusen takk for forbønn! Eg merkar verkeleg at folk ber, og det er heilt herleg! Gud er trufast, – alltid!

  2. Paula Romer says:

    Te’ena… Oh friend… You all are constantly in our thoughts and prayers. I pray that the cease fire will be successful and that the people and soldiers of Israel will not be in harm’s way. I’ve been praying for peace and strength for you as you are home with the children-trying to be strong for them and trying to give them a sense of normalcy.
    Praying for a true resolve to the situation. Thankfully the G-D of Israel never slumbers nor sleeps. All the watchmen on the walls are praying that the enemies of Israel will be silenced.
    As we begin our Thanksgiving celebrations with our families today–you guys are not far from our thoughts. Praying that G-d will sustain your family and bring your soldier home-safe! Paula

  3. […] Life after Air Raid Sirens. (teenainjerusalem.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

