Shabbat Shalom and a Wonderful Weekend to all!

It is Friday morning again, and I am rushing around the house finishing one thing after the other, in order to be able to tick them off of my to-do-lists. Because, for me, the best way to get a lot done, is to have a list. And the funnest part with having a list, is to be able to tick things off of it as they get done!

The last days somehow turned out extremely busy, with the result that I was not able to “help” my Friday-load at all on those days, leaving me with all the laundry, cleaning and cooking today. Hence the long list…

Cool SOAP containers, don’t you think??

One of the things already ticked off on my list is “clean bathrooms”. Pretty quickly done. The thing next to it on the list, is “do laundry”. Now, tell me, I am on the second load, hung the first one on the upstairs balcony, but there are still at least two more loads to go, so, – when do I get to make that little “v” on my list that gives me so much pleasure??? I mean, I could of course write “do laundry” four times, and then get to tick it off after every load, but that would look a little funny, wouldn’t it?

So, dear friend out there, – if you have ever pondered the same thing, I have the great joy to share with you a solution I came up with this morning! πŸ˜‰ I am just making a little markΒ next to the “do laundry” thing on my list, and then I can each time get to tap myself on the back, even though I am not quite done with all the laundry yet! So, there you go, – You’re welcome! πŸ™‚

I would not be telling the truth if I said I like cleaning. I would much prefer going out for coffee with a friend (*an example that easily comes to mind as one of the other moms at school suggested we would do that this morning…). But, I really, really enjoy a clean house! I find joy in the thought of empty laundry baskets, of all the things ticked off my list, walking around barefoot inside without feeling sand under my feet, looking at a mirror with no water-drop-marks as I wash my hands. The little pleasures in life, huh?

And all those things make for a very enjoyable weekend. The family will be home, we have guests invited, there will be enough food on the table, the different rooms are clean and ready to be played in, lived in, – messed up once again, but that’s OK, I know they were clean for Shabbat… πŸ˜‰

So, as I go around cleaning, finishing room after room, the mantra in my head is that I am preparing for an enjoyable Shabbat, a wonderful weekend for my family and our guests. As I have said before, Shabbat comes either way, but it sure is much more enjoyable when you are ready for it! And, boy, am I ready for Shabbat this week!! What a blessing this day is! JustΒ to be! ToΒ have time!Β How absolutely wonderful! I am really thankful for Shabbat!

But hey, I need to rush back to prepare for it! Just wanted to wish you all a Shabbat Shalom and s Wonderful Weekend!

6 thoughts on “Shabbat Shalom and a Wonderful Weekend to all!

  1. hollykaann says:

    Ahh yes, the list. I do love a list and marking it off! I, too, have pondered the dilemma of having “done” laundry, but not being done with the laundry. I just told myself at the end of the day if I had worked on it I could mark it off with a clear conscience. However, I do like the idea of the hash marks! On most Mondays (my laundry day) I can easily do 8 loads of laundry. Four kids and a farm make for a lot of laundry! May you weekend by blessed.

  2. Hi there! Thanks for commenting, and I am happy to hear that you can relate to the complications around the “laundry” part of the list! πŸ™‚ There is also the whole thing of folding and putting away the laundry of course! And the ironing of whatever needs that, – by the time you are done it is time to start all over again…

  3. insahmity says:

    Your home is wonderfully clean — I will close my eyes and pretend it is mine — I’m inspired to clean!

  4. janneaanobo says:

    So nice to read about your list. I am a “list-person” too. πŸ˜€ Totally agree that the day is more effective then. And great joy of ticke off everything that is done. πŸ˜‰
    Smiled when you mentioned to write “do laudry” four times ….Hahaha… I’m tempted to it occasionally, but your idea about “mark next to” were super! πŸ˜‰
    Reading what “hollykaann” writing about the amount of laundry with four children and a farm … Recognizable!!! :-0
    The wisdom: Clean with small children in the house is like shoveling while it’s still snowing … πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ But we still need to do it…. :-/ πŸ˜‰
    Love from a messy house on Trevland πŸ˜‰

    • Te'ena says:

      Your house on Trevland is always so beautiful and cozy and inviting, Janne! Thank you for coming by my blog, and for leaving such nice and encouraging comments! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

