My Granola Recipe.

Mmmm! I wish I could send you the wonderful smell that fills my kitchen right now! My big batch of granola is in the oven, and I am sitting here mouthwatering waiting to eat some for an afternoon snack as soon as it is done! Meanwhile I will share the recipe with you guys.

First you measure the dry ingredients:

12 cups big oats

5 cups whole wheat flour

2 cups chopped almonds

2 cups coconut

1 Tbs. salt

2 cups mixed seeds (sesame, sunflower, pumpkin, and I always put a lot of ground flax seeds)

You divide this to two baking-sheets.

Oh, and I almost forgot, then I add a healthy amount of cinnamon on top, but that is optional of course.

This all gets mixed up well together.

And it is time to measure the wet ingredients:

2 cups oil (I usually use olive oil or a mixture of olive oil and canola oil)

1 cup honey (very helpful to measure this after the oil, as it then glides out so easily)

2 cups water

3 Tbs. vanilla

3 Tbs. maple flavoring (if you don’t have this, it is OK without as well, but it sure adds a nice flavor, and not the least a wonderful smell…)

(There is also an option for adding brown sugar, for those who like their granola sweeter.)

You mix all of this well together.

And then you get to the part where you pour the wet part over the dry part and mix the two together on the baking sheets. It gets a little messy, but don’t worry, it is worth it! šŸ™‚

You bake it in the oven on 120 degrees Celsius, for about three hours, stirring from time to time to avoil too big lumps.

MMmmm, and then you get to the time that I am in now, – just enjoying the yummy homey smell the granola spreads around the house! Of course there are lots of ready made granolas offered for sale, – but to make it yourself is the only way to get the smell in the house! This way you also know exactly what is in there, and you can make your very own variations depending on your taste and preference.

This also makes for great gifts. I have many times given away a jar of my homemade granola, and it is always well received! šŸ™‚

MMMMmmmmm! Oh, joy and happiness! The granola is now done, and I get to taste it (*not for the first time, because of course I have tasted little bits and pieces as I have stirred it as well…).

At this point you can add raisins, craisins, pecans etc. to your baked granola, but I normally leave that for each one to add to his own bowl as much as each likes.

And now is the time to just enjoooooooyyyyy! šŸ™‚

I like to store my cooled granola in these cute boxes.

Now I am all set for many breakfasts to come. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do! šŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “My Granola Recipe.

  1. Coral Mings says:

    Sounds delicious, but when I make granola, I try to only use organic ingredients. I have heard that canola oil isn’t good to use, so I would use organic extra-virgin coconut oil instead. I also wonder if using coconut or almond flour wouldn’t be good substitutes for whole-wheat flour? I wonder if that would work, and make it gluten free?

    • Hi Coral! Thanks for your comment! I normally always use only olive oil, only today I didn’t have quite enough. I am sure it is healthier that way! I have no experience with coconut or almond flour, but would be very interested in how it turns out if you try it! šŸ™‚

      • Coral Mings says:

        Thanks for replying, Teena. As I understand it, olive oil is okay for lower temperatures, but coconut oil is better. Can you get organic coconut oil there? It “tolerates” higher temperatures better than olive oil. But you bake the granola at a lower temp, so it should be okay. I’ll try the coconut and almond flours the next time I make granola, and I’ll let you know how it turns out…

  2. Ulli says:

    Oh I remember the delicious smell in your house!!! And I will try it out. Especially, because I have controll of what I put in. And it all seems to be so healthy… You should also become a photographer of cooking books. You want to make the recepies, because they look so good! Really, I am attracted with all my senses….

  3. Oh my goodness that sounds delicious. My 6 year old loves muesli so it might be time we “upgraded”!

  4. This recipe sounds delicious! I wish my dorm had an oven so I could make some!

    • If you have a toaster oven, I imagine you could make a smaller batch in there. In the past I have also made smaller batches of granola in an electric frying pan with a lid, stirring quite frequently.

Leave a Reply

