Shuk Shopping!

When you visit Jerusalem (note, I don’t say if, but when!) you definitely have to make it to Shuk Mahane Yehuda, our Open Air Market. It is the place to meet the real Jerusalemites! You really do see all kinds of people there; rich and poor, religious and secular, sephardic and ashkenazi, young and old.

I was there on my weekly shopping trip today, and took some quick pictures to give you a taste of what it’s like.

Here is one of the regular booths where I get fruit and vegetables for my family. He has the great combination of low prices and high quality. And you get the shuk-atmosphere as you are there and he yells out for everyone to hear that his oranges are both big and tasty, – over and over and over again. 🙂

Whatever is available at the shuk is very seasonal, so hanging out there helps us city-folks to have some sort of connection to the seasons out on the field as well. 😉 Of course, what is seasonal is also influenced by the holidays, and today I found that they already had sofganiot, jelly doughnuts for chanukkah!

Had to take a picture. But had enough self control to not buy any yet… It just doesn’t feel right to come home with those, before we put in more of a distance between us and Sukkot.

When you need spices, you know where to find them nice and fresh! Today I got a bunch of cinnamon sticks and whole cloves, so as to be well stocked for fall and hot-apple-cider-season. I also bought what I need for making a new batch of my homemade granola. (And when I do, I will share the recipe with you here on the blog!)

Then at the end of my shuk-shopping today, I met up with one of my best friends for a great time of heart-to-heart-conversation and tasty fruit-shakes.

Wouldn’t you say that shuk-shopping is much more of an experience than just going down to the super market??

4 thoughts on “Shuk Shopping!

  1. I’m so jealous! Glad I came across your blog, can’t wait to read more! I was in Israel on my birthright trip and am dying to go back. (mostly for the spices and markets hahahaha… okay jk) Thanks for sharing your blog!

  2. Thank you for your very encouraging comment, and for following my blog! Let me know when you are in Jerusalem, – we’ll have to meet up at the shuk! 🙂

  3. The open air market definitely looks more relaxing than shopping at your local grocery store. How were you able to resist the yummy jelly doughnuts?

Leave a Reply

