Imma, what is a nuclear bomb…..??

We are walking down the street hand in hand, my princess and I. She chatters along about a loose tooth, an upcoming school trip and what we are going to have for dinner. And then, all of a sudden, comes the question: – “What is a nuclear bomb, Imma???”

Oh, the things a six year old has to deal with! My heart is crying for the fact that she even knows to ask the question, while my mind desperately is trying to think of an answer that will be true but at the same time on a level that a six year old can handle. Of course the whole thing is complicated by the relevance of the question!!

– “It is a very big bomb…” I say in as calming and matter-of-factly way that I possibly can. – “But what does it do? How does it work?” she continues. – “It destroys. A lot.” I answer. Then comes the question that everything stands and falls on for her: – “Does it even destroy a bomb-shelter???” – “No, the bomb-shelters are strong. They won´t be destroyed by a nuclear bomb.” I assure her, and leave it at that, hoping it is true.

And then it´s all OK for her. For now. Until the next question arrises. Until she picks up another little thing from overhearing a bit of news or a conversation or something.

Image

Oh, I pray that we as parents may have real wisdom to answer the questions our children ask us! May we be able to convey a peace of heart that they can make their own! Actually, – May they always keep their enormous trust in the God of Israel, who neither slumbers nor sleeps! I guess, the truth is, we grownups probably have a lot to learn from the children! May we have the type of faith our children have!


Hine lo yanum, ve lo yishan, – Shomer Yisrael!

7 thoughts on “Imma, what is a nuclear bomb…..??

  1. Rach says:

    😦 So sad, but in Israel this reality. Love you all.

  2. Hadassah says:

    I was 8 at the time of the Cuban Missile Crisis. Living in a military area, there was a lot of talk at school ~ rumors mostly by children of Military officers. The biggest rumor was that Cuba was going to drop a gas bomb on Florida and it would kill us all (remember I was 8) When I burst into tears and told my Mom about our impending doom she very calmly told me, ” That everything is in God’s hands and nothing would happen without Him.” (And she wasn’t even a Believer! I, to this day, remember the Peace that passes understanding that washed over my heart….

  3. Sonja says:

    Blir så rørt , ser på den søte lille jenta , dei små tenke ofte meir enn me trur …Men så er ho så heldig å ha deg som mor , som er reflektert og vet å svare sånn at ho føle seg trygg 🙂 Ha ein god dag ! Klem

  4. dba says:

    It’s really sad… Why people make bomb? just don’t understand…

Leave a Reply

